Dr. Timothy Gronberg, Department Head :: 3035 Allen, College Station, TX 77843 :: (979) 845-7351 :: (979) 847-8757 fax
Wednesday, April 16th, 2014 :: 10:58 AM
[ A ]
[ A ]

EUROP: Economics Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program

The Economics Undergraduate Research Program is designed for ambitious, talented undergraduates with an interest in independent research. The program will consist of:

  • A flexible, paid, part-time summer job with a Department of Economics faculty member assisting on research. Scholars who successfully complete the program are eligible for awards of up to $1,000

  • Participation in Econ 491 courses in Fall 2014 and Spring 2015

  • Student-led research, advised by a member of the Department of Economics faculty, during the 2014-2015 academic year, culminating in a paper suitable for submission to an undergraduate research conference or a peer-reviewed economics journal


1. Minimum GPR of 3.1

2. Completed ECMT 463: Econometrics by Spring 2014

3. Graduating in May 2015 or later

4. Excellent potential to do independent research

5. Application to the Undergraduate Research Scholars program in September 2014 and fulfilling the requirements of that program listed here

6. Submission of completed work to conferences and publications such as Student Research Week, Explorations: The Journal of Undergraduate Research, the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Economics Scholars Program for Undergraduate Research, the Carroll Round, or peer-reviewed economics journals


Applications should be emailed to Teri Tenalio by February 3, 2014. Files should be in PDF or Word format and given filenames of the form LASTNAME_FIRSTNAME_RESUME, LASTNAME_FIRSTNAME_TRANSCRIPT, etc. Applications must include:

1. An up-to-date resumé

2. An unofficial transcript

3. A one to two page letter of interest that

a. Outlines why you want to undertake independent research
b. Discusses the qualities you believe would make you an excellent candidate for this program
c. Includes the names of three faculty members with whom you are interested in working (faculty do not have to be ones from whom you have taken a class)

Applications will be reviewed by the Undergraduate Research Committee: Dr. Dennis Jansen, Dr. Jonathan Meer and Dr. Sarah Zubairy. At least one and as many as six exemplary candidates will be chosen as Economics Undergraduate Research Scholars in 2014-2015. Applicants will be informed of their status by March 1.

Questions should be directed to Dr. Jonathan Meer